Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Flat v stepped keyboard for Irish music  (Read 4302 times)

wilfredsdad

Flat v stepped keyboard for Irish music
« on: October 19, 2011, 08:10:12 PM »

Hello - I recently played a Saltarelle Bouebe B+C (standard, not the 'Irish Bouebe') and I really liked it - nice sound (it was dry tuned) and overall nice feel. I am looking for a new instrument and this one seemed very nice - however I have one area of concern: the instrument has a stepped keyboard and I have come across varying opinions as to whether this is good for Irish musich (which is what I want to mainly play). To me the keyboard felt very nice - but I am only a novice player and I am concerned that as I improve and - hopefully - begin to play jigs, polkas, etc up to their real speed then the stepped keyboard might be a problem, I would be most grateful for any informed opinion on this. Is there anyone out there who plays fast Irish on a stepped keyboard? Anyone come across any good players who play fast on a stepped keyboard? kind regards Pete

Lester

• MADman
  • Mods and volunteers
  • Hohners'R'me
    • Lester's Melodeon Emporium and Tune-a-Rama
Re: Flat v stepped keyboard for Irish music
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2011, 08:14:40 PM »

Sharon Shannon plays a Castagnari Tommy with a stepped keyboard and seems to play OK  ;D

george garside

« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2011, 08:47:36 PM »

probably most BC players prefer a flat keyboard but as Lester has pointed out Sharon Shannon gets along fine with a stepped one on one of her boxes- in other words you get used to what you have got!