Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Playing/learning by ear.  (Read 8059 times)

sidecar

Playing/learning by ear.
« on: November 02, 2011, 04:49:12 PM »

I started playing the melodeon about two years ago, a pokerwork D/G.  I use Maggie Moores and George Garsides books, plus various lessons, and practice for a minimum of an hour a day in total.  By using what seems to be the standard melodeon notation  (button numbering and push pull symbols)  I can play about 18 tunes from memory and and bits of various others.
     The problem is this is all very 'automatic' . When playing with others, and they play a tune I have not memorised, (which is very often)  I am lost.   I cannot even pick a few notes out to play along.
      Any suggestions how one can learn to learn by ear would be most welcome.

Thanks Denis.

Lester

• MADman
  • Mods and volunteers
  • Hohners'R'me
    • Lester's Melodeon Emporium and Tune-a-Rama
Re: Playing/learning by ear.
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2011, 05:00:49 PM »

For starters I would try to play tunes that you know really well but don't play yet. As it is now November I would suggest Christmas carols, the likes of Good King Wensleclas is a tune most of us know from an early age and is a relatively simple tune.

Thrupenny Bit

• happily squeezing away in Devon
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2011, 05:09:22 PM »

Hi Sidecar,
welcome to the merry throng.....

Lester is absolutely right, try to 'find' a tune that you know well on the melodeon and work out which sound comes from which button in order to play it.
Then try another tune... and another.
Like any learnt skill, you have to actually learn to do it, it's not some strange mystic art, just acquiring a skill.
Best of luck!
cheers
Q
Thrupenny Bit