Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Tight top notes - what to do?  (Read 3547 times)

wilfredsdad

Tight top notes - what to do?
« on: November 21, 2011, 12:02:41 AM »

Hello - I am a beginner on melodeon but I feel I am making reasonable progress. I am learning B+C melodeon - mainly Irish tunes at the moment, and I am very much a devotee of the Sharon Shannon school of playing (dry tuning, light, delicate and articulate playing). I have just purchased a Sandpiper box and overall I am very pleased with it. However, I am becoming aware of what I think is possibly a common problem with a lot of boxes and I wonder if there are any tips for getting round it - namely: tight top reeds. I find on my box I have to push/pull the top (unvalved?) reeds pretty hard to get them to speak, and when they do speak they are pretty quiet and a bit squeaky. I think the reeds are set properly (I don't get a little puff of air sound before the reed speaks and they are in tune). I understand that the top reeds will always be quiet because they simply are smaller and you 'can't change the laws of physics' but I am wondering if there is anything that I can do to help minimise the problem. What is particularly diffiicult is that because I find I have to push/pull the reeds much harder it causes the box to jump about much more when I change bellows direction - this makes life difficult. I have a couple of thoughts on the matter and I would appreciate any info and opinions.
1)Have the top reeds tuned with a bit more tremolo - I think I am correct that this will make them seem a little louder?