Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Very easy lessons for the DG melodeon - Lessons 1 and 2  (Read 7650 times)

Daddy Long Les

• Forum Librarian
    • Daddy Long Les
Very easy lessons for the DG melodeon - Lessons 1 and 2
« on: June 03, 2012, 10:47:13 AM »

Lesson 1"Twinkle, twinkle, little star" - right hand melody.

Lesson 2 - "Twinkle, twinkle, little star" - adding the bass notes and chords.

It occurred to me the other day that it might be useful to record some very easy lessons for absolute beginners on the melodeon.  To this end, I have recorded two video lessons for the tune "Twinkle, twinkle, little star".  Lesson 1 deals mainly with the right hand tune and Lesson 2, the bass notes and chords.  I have provided two pdfs of the annotated sheet music which you will see attached to this post.

Ok, so "Twinkle" is not the most exciting tune in the world but I picked it because it uses three adjacent buttons on one row and three chords that can be found in one small area.  In my experience, absolute beginners don't worry whether a tune is "cool" or not - they just want to pick up the basic technique with a melody they know.  I certainly wouldn't have minded starting off in this way.

I'm obviously not trying to compete with any of the pro teachers on here - I've simply tried to provide something that I would have loved to have had when I started out.  The idea is that people (perhaps older children?) might see these videos and having made a start would seek out more lessons/books/DVDs via melnet which I mention in the first video.

Hopefully I've brought my long experience of teaching children to these tutorials.  One thing I learnt very early on in my teaching career is that you can't dumb things down too much for a beginner so that has been my approach here.