Melodeon.net Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new melodeon.net forum

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Bad practice for a beginner?  (Read 4393 times)

Helena Handcart

• Nine-box Nellie
Bad practice for a beginner?
« on: June 21, 2012, 08:56:16 PM »

I've been playing D/G for around 2-3 months now and I have a couple of tutor books which have been really useful but I keep hearing tunes I want to play, mainly stuff I've known for years that just sort of wanders across my ipod.  Next thing I know I'm messing around with these tunes instead of following the books. 

I'm pretty sure this is a good idea in some respects, it is waking up the tiny part of my brain that took in any musical theory as a child and also making me think a little more about the way tunes are constructed and about the notes I am playing, particularly when crossing the rows is involved.  Part of me still feels a bit like a naughty rebellious fourth former though and I wonder if I would just be better following my tutor books rather than going 'off-piste' like this?

What do others think, is this a good idea or should I get a better theoretical grounding before I start tinkering too much?
Sideways typing on the wooden handbag (now with added electric typewriter).

Green Man Sword | Helena Handcart on Soundcloud| Squeezebox from Scratch |

Anahata

• This mind intentionally left blank
  • Oakwood D/G, C/F Club, 1-rows in C,D,G
    • Treewind Music
Re: Bad practice for a beginner?
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2012, 09:18:27 PM »

Easy: do a bit of both and don't feel guilty.
I didn't have any melodeon tutors, but I did have the advantage of a prior musical education.
I'm a melodeon player. What's your excuse?
Music recording and web hosting: www.treewind.co.uk
Mary Humphreys and Anahata: www.maryanahata.co.uk
Ceilidh band: www.barleycoteband.co.uk

malcolmbebb

• In dampest Dorset, on the soggy south coast.